Facebook now gives a more personal touch to your feelings. You can now pay a tribute to your friends and loved ones who are no more in this world by memorializing their profile on Facebook. Well, this is actually a very important thing. By memorializing the account of someone who has passed away, you will no longer see that person appear in your suggestions.
When an account is memorialized, the profile corresponding to that account will no longer appear in search results and suggestions. Only confirmed friends can visit the profile. Facebook also protects the deceased's privacy by removing sensitive information such as contact information and status updates from his / her profile.Check this screenshot.
Memorializing an account also prevents anyone from logging into it in the future and thus preventing from profile abuse. Profile Wall will still be enabled in order to allow the deceased's friends to write something in remembrance.
If you have a friend or a family member whose profile should be memorialized, then you should use this form to notify Facebook.
Via FB Blog